The Newnan Times-Herald

Subscribe Now

Subscribe Now


Election Results in Coweta

  • By The Newnan Times-Herald
  • |
  • May. 26, 2022 - 9:54 AM

Election Results in Coweta

The Newnan Times-Herald

It was a night for the incumbents in Coweta County as the majority of challengers in contested races fell.

In the local House races, Rep. Lynn Smith handily defeated challenger Angel Nunez in District 70, while David Jenkins beat Kenneth Murphy in District 136.

Drew Ferguson easily defeated challenger Jared Craig in the U.S. House Republican primary.

For the county commission, Bill McKenzie won over three other challengers to claim the open Coweta County Board Of Commissioners seat.

In the race for school board, all four candidates endorsed by the 1776 PAC fell, including Linda Menk, who was edged out by Rob DuBose. However, the two will meet again in a runoff, as DuBose did not meet the 50 percent threshold required.

"While we didn't get to 50, we had the most votes and will get back to work tomorrow," DuBose said. "I appreciate all the support the community has provided and I will work to make sure our students, parents, and teachers are represented."

In the race for Court Clerk, Niki Sewell defeated Tasha Johnson.

Here are the unofficial results from the Coweta races, updated on 5/25/22 at 8 a.m.

U.S. House of Representatives

Jared Craig - 18,692 votes

Drew Ferguson - 89,446 votes

State House of Representatives - District 136

David Jenkins - 6,502 votes

Kenneth Murphy - 2,291 votes

State House of Representatives - District 70

Angel Nunez - 989 votes

Lynn Smith - 6,250 votes

Coweta County Board of Commissioners

Steven Hoffman - 548 votes

Craig Jackson - 1,215 votes

Kenny Johnson - 556 votes

Bill McKenzie - 2,536 votes

Board of Education

District 4

Davin Bostic - 807 votes

Rob DuBose - 3,297 votes

Linda Menk - 3,211 votes

(If a top vote-getter doesn’t get 50 percent, a runoff will be required.)

District 3

Beth Barnett - 4,732 votes

Megan Smith - 1,696 votes

District 1

Maxwell Britton - 2,257 votes

Amy Dees - 5,140 votes

At Large District 1

Cory Gambardella - 8,073 votes

Larry Robertson - 22,254 votes

Court Clerk

Tasha Johnson - 5,753 votes

Niki Sewell - 22,599 votes




Ballots Cast


Registered Voters