The Newnan Times-Herald

Subscribe Now

Subscribe Now


Coweta County School System honors 2022 Teachers of the Year

  • By Rebecca Leftwich
  • |
  • May. 26, 2022 - 10:38 AM

Coweta County School System honors 2022 Teachers of the Year

Rebecca Leftwich / The Newnan Times-Herald

Macie Fleming, center, was named 2022 Coweta County Teacher of the Year Tuesday. She is pictured with fellow finalists Brandavious Mann, left, and Adrienne Kocin, right.

Macie Fleming, a third grade teacher at Welch Elementary School, is Coweta County’s 2022 Teacher of the Year.

Fleming was recognized at a celebration of the school system’s 33 school-level Teachers of the Year, held at the Nixon Centre for Performing and Visual Arts on Tuesday.

“I’m humbled and honored to be here surrounded by such incredible, talented and passionate educators who have made such a difference in the lives of our students each and every day,” Fleming said.

Fleming, a 2015 graduate of Newnan High School, first came to Welch in 2018 as a student teacher. She earned a bachelor of science degree in early childhood education from the University of West Georgia that same year, completing a master of education degree in elementary education in 2021.

She taught kindergarten at Welch from January-May of 2019, then taught second grade for two years. Fleming is finishing her first year as a third grade teacher at Welch.

Also selected as finalists for the honor were Brandavious Mann, special education teacher at Newnan High, and Adrienne Kocin, math teacher and family engagement coordinator at Evans Middle.

All Coweta County Teachers of the Year are honored at an annual ceremony sponsored by the Coweta County Board of Education and the Newnan Pilot Club. They are selected at the school level by their school’s fellow certified classroom teachers.

Teachers of the Year are chosen in recognition of exemplary teaching and serve as ambassadors of their profession.

This year’s honorees represent grade levels from kindergarten through 12th grade and come from a wide range of educational disciplines including elementary grade instruction, math, sciences, language arts and history, special education, P.E., theatre and school media services.

They include:

Symony Griffiths, special education, Arbor Springs Elementary

Lauranne Payne, kindergarten, Arnco-Sargent Elementary

Kristen Yates, fifth grade, Atkinson Elementary

Lisa Luker, first grade, Brooks Elementary

Amanda Stevens, second grade, Canongate Elementary

Lisa Bourque, second grade, Eastside Elementary

Laura Hightower, first grade, Elm Street Elementary

Angela Nouryeh, first grade, Empower Program

Michelle Turner, second grade, Glanton Elementary

Charlene St. John, first grade, Jefferson Parkway Elementary

Katie Capshaw, third grade, Moreland Elementary

Amy Cooper, first grade, Newnan Crossing Elementary

Olivia Strozier, special education, Northside Elementary

Robin DeMent, EIP, Poplar Road Elementary

Austen Martin, second grade, Ruth Hill Elementary

Kara Fretwell, kindergarten, Thomas Crossroads Elementary

Kara Hooper, fourth grade math, Western Elementary

Ashlee Grace Chitwood, music, White Oak Elementary

Whitney Kling, special education, Willis Road Elementary

Jennifer Davis, eighth grade social studies, Arnall Middle

Ashley Dawson, eighth grade, Blake Bass Middle

Stephanie Ferrari, sixth and seventh grade gifted science, East Coweta Middle

Laura Dalton eighth grade math, Lee Middle

Jennifer Rogers, special education, Maggie Brown Middle

Jeff Welch, eighth grade Georgia studies, Madras Middle

Donny Blacksher, health and P.E., Smokey Road Middle

Vickie Waldrop, 8th-12th grade special education, Central Educational Center

Pamela Foulks, family consumer science, East Coweta High

Cassie Scott-Fortune, theatre and theatre director, Northgate High

Nekada Lewis, media specialist, Winston Dowdell Academy

As Teacher of the Year, Fleming will also serve as Coweta County’s nominee for 2022 Georgia Teacher of the Year.