The Newnan Times-Herald

Subscribe Now

Subscribe Now


Education Briefs: Coweta students to Lead JSU trumpet line

  • By Rebecca Leftwich
  • |
  • Jul. 30, 2021 - 6:35 PM

Education Briefs: Coweta students to Lead JSU trumpet line

Photo courtesy JSU

Eric Geeter, left, and Brandon Proffitt, right

Two students hailing from Coweta County among those selected to serve as section leaders of the trumpet line for the world-renowned Marching Southerners at Jacksonville State University for 2021-22.

Brandon Proffitt and Eric Geeter, both of Newnan, will help lead the Marching Southerners when they kick off the 2021 season at band camp Aug. 3.

Proffitt, a graduate of Northgate High School, is a music major. Geeter, a graduate of East Coweta High School, is a marketing major.

This year's halftime show, "Fate of the Gods," will explore the legends of Greek and Roman mythology. Learn more about the trumpet line at .

Georgia Southern announces academic honors lists

Area residents were among students named to academic honors lists at Georgia Southern University for the spring 2021 semester.

PRESIDENT’S LIST: Emily Bauman of Senoia, Chaelyn Brewer of Newnan, Morgan Carr of Newnan, Mary Casale of Newnan, Abigail Cliett of Newnan, Sarah Cook of Newnan, Logan Gray of Newnan, Ashlynn Gunter of Sharpsburg, Andrew Harmon of Newnan, Kyle Hunt of Newnan, Ryan Mitchell of Newnan, Megan Moore of Newnan, Yenaira Napenas of Newnan, A'maya Pless of Newnan, Hannah Pryor of Newnan, Taylor Rouse of Palmetto, William Sachs of Sharpsburg, Jasmyn Stevens of Newnan, Grant Thom of Newnan, Rachel Tripp of Sharpsburg, Larry Voyles of Senoia, Caroline White of Sharpsburg, Melody White of Sharpsburg and Caroline Yarbrough of Newnan.

To be eligible, students must maintain a 4.0 GPA while completing at least 12 hours of academic credit.

DEAN’S LIST: Cameron Almond of Newnan, Callie Bass of Newnan, Grace Benson of Newnan, Brandon Burgess of Newnan, Patrick Carson of Newnan, Zabrina Corrales of Senoia, Connor Ellison of Newnan, Catelyn Farr of Newnan, Connor Fortner of Sharpsburg, Brandon Frost of Senoia, Hope Futral of Sharpsburg, Ryan Grant of Newnan, Tori Gravitt of Newnan, Avery Hayes of Sharpsburg, Shandria Hill of Newnan, Emily Hogg of Newnan, Sarah Hogg of Newnan, Josephine Hukin of Sharpsburg, Emily Jimerson of Senoia, Morgan Kieffer of Sharpsburg, Haley Mapp of Newnan, Connor Marshall of Newnan, Jeremy Miller of Senoia, Oren Millson of Newnan, Noah Parker of Senoia, Dylan Peek of Newnan, Shelly Poe of Senoia, Jade Rhodes of Newnan, Jedidiah Roberts of Senoia, Hayes Sellers of Newnan, Michael Shaw of Newnan, Emily Spencer of Newnan, Tyiena Stafford of Newnan, Victoria Stephens of Senoia, Chase Taylor of Sharpsburg, Alexis Toles of Newnan, Emily Vick of Senoia and Anna Walick of Sharpsburg.

To be eligible, students must maintain a minimum 3.5 GPA while completing at least 12 hours of academic credit.

Georgia approves cloud computing Career Pathway

High school students in Georgia will now have access to a Career Pathway in cloud computing, after the State Board of Education approved State School Superintendent Richard Woods’ recommendation to adopt the new courses.

The pathway is composed of three courses – Introduction to Software Technology, Computer Science Principles and Cloud Computing.

Amazon Web Services reached out to the Georgia Department of Education to propose a pathway that would prepare students for entry-level careers in the cloud computing industry – part of a broader initiative that includes courses at the technical college level. The K-12 courses were developed with feedback from industry representatives from AWS, Google Cloud, NCR, Accenture, Microsoft and other businesses.

After completing the high school pathway, students will be ready to continue their studies in the aligned program offered through the Technical College System of Georgia.