The Newnan Times-Herald

Subscribe Now

Subscribe Now


Education Briefs

  • By The Newnan Times-Herald
  • |
  • Jun. 17, 2020 - 2:02 PM

Troy University announces spring graduates

Local residents were among spring semester graduates of Troy University.

They included:

Allison Deloach of Sharpsburg, bachelor’s degree from the Sorrell College of Business.

Savannah Moore of Sharpsburg, bachelor’s degree from the College of Education.

Tashe' Waldon of Palmetto, bachelor’s degree from the College of Education.

Local students earn degrees from ABAC

Several local residents were among more than 350 students who graduated from Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College at the end of the spring semester.

ABAC President David Bridges said 169 of the graduates received bachelor’s degrees. During the spring term, more than 2,000 students pursued four-year degrees at ABAC in biology, nursing, agribusiness, agriculture, agricultural communication, agricultural education, business, environmental horticulture, history and government, natural resource management, rural community development, and writing and communication.

Local graduates included:

Thomas Grayson Belk of Newnan: Bachelor of Science in Environmental Horticulture

Courtney Lynn Moore of Newnan: Bachelor of Science in Natural Resource Management (summa cum laude)

Sydney Rae Nielsen of Newnan: Bachelor of Science in Agriculture

George Daniel Sewal of Newnan: Associate of Science

Audrey Leanna Hawk of Sharpsburg: Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Education (cum laude)

McKenna Rose Kammerer of Sharpsburg: Bachelor of Science of Biology

Area students earn Valdosta State honors

Area students were among 2,100 students recognized by Valdosta State University for academic achievement during the spring semester.

Cowetans named to the Dean’s List included:

Alex Boutte' of Newnan, Gaylyn Farmer of Newnan, Peyton Halpin of Newnan, Makayla Cummings of Senoia, Karla Solis Rueda of Newnan, Roshni Patel of Newnan, Ethan Campbell of Newnan, Hannah Swenson of Newnan, Courtni Campbell of Newnan, Maria Owens of Newnan, Destiny Hood of Senoia, Abigail Bentley of Newnan, Cole Hellwig of Grantville, Melina Franco of Palmetto, Cameron Thompson of Senoia, Brianna Slay of Newnan and Khyree Wright of Newnan.

To qualify, students must earn a semester GPA of 3.5 or higher while completing nine or more hours of semester credit. A student must maintain an institutional GPA of 3.0 or higher to be eligible.

Developmental studies, transient and graduate students are not eligible for the Dean's List.

Cowetans named to JSU honors list

Jacksonville State University named nearly 900 students to the President's List and Dean’s List for the spring semester, including several area residents.

They included Jenna Rainwater of Moreland, Mia Williams of Newnan, Jessica Brown of Newnan, Kiley Cox of Newnan, Tiffini Brenner of Newnan, Morgan Mosley of Newnan, Elizabeth Boatright of Newnan, Garrett Liles of Newnan, Quele Nelson of Newnan, Kevin Geeter of Newnan, Eric Geeter of Newnan, Madison Maxey of Newnan, Darien Key of Newnan, William Freeman of Newnan, Makayla Pugh of Newnan, Ansley Winter of Senoia, Laine Futral of Senoia, Nathaniel Wright of Senoia, Dalia Gibson of Sharpsburg, Courtney Buck of Sharpsburg and Hannah Lawson of Sharpsburg.

Kauffman awarded Wofford scholarship

Jessica Kauffman of Newnan recently was awarded a merit scholarship to attend Wofford College in Spartanburg, South Carolina.

To be named a Wofford Scholar, students must rank in the top 10 percent of their high school classes and have a combined score of 1300 on the SAT/PSAT or a 28 on the ACT/PLAN.

Wofford Scholars also must be active in leadership and service roles in their schools and/or communities.