The Newnan Times-Herald


Contested elections to be held for Newnan, Sharpsburg, Turin and Moreland

  • By Sarah Fay Campbell
  • |
  • Aug. 21, 2019 - 10:27 PM

Municipal qualifying began with a flurry but ended Wednesday without any new challengers coming forward. 

The only candidates who qualified on the second or third day of qualifying were incumbents. 

Senoia Councilman Dale Reeder qualified for reelection on Wednesday. Neither he nor Councilman Maurice Grover picked up any opposition. 

There will be contested municipal races this November in Newnan, Sharpsburg, Turin and Moreland. 

In Newnan, longtime Councilman George Alexander is being challenged by James “JJ” Thomasson IV for his District 3, Post A seat. 

Newnan incumbents Cynthia Jenkins, Paul Guillaume and Dustin Koritko qualified for reelection and are not facing opposition. 

In Sharpsburg, Councilman Stan Parten is being challenged by Polly Garlington. Mayor Blue Cole and Councilman Tom Teagle qualified without opposition. 

In Turin, Shawn Banach, Susan Riemer and Alan Stapp qualified for the two seats currently held by Stapp and Michael Frnka. In Moreland, Jeff Burgess, David Dupree and Kenneth Tharpe are running for the two Board of Aldermen seats currently held by Burgee and Dan Cato. 

In Moreland and Turin, all candidates run together and voters choose two. The seats go to the top two vote getters. 

The registration deadline for those who aren’t currently registered – or need to change their address – to vote in the city election is Oct. 7. Early voting starts Oct. 14. 

You can check your voter registration, find out which districts you live in and even see a sample ballot (once available) on the Georgia Secretary of State’s My Voter Page at

You can also check your registration by calling the Coweta Voter Registration Office at 770-254-2615.