The Newnan Times-Herald

Subscribe Now

Subscribe Now


Smith, Trammell, Bonner pick up opposition

  • By Sarah Fay Campbell
  • |
  • Mar. 11, 2018 - 6:17 AM

Donate To Support Local Journalism.

Please consider making a donation so we can continue to bring you the latest news and information on COVID-19 in our community.

Donate Now

At the end of candidate qualifying, State Sen. Matt Brass, R-Newnan, and three judges are the only Coweta County elected officials who are unopposed.

State Reps. Lynn Smith, R-Newnan; Josh Bonner, R-Peachtree City; and Bob Trammell, D-Luthersville all picked up opposition. So did Coweta County Board of Education member Beth Barnett.

Smith, who has served District 70 since 1996, is being challenged in the Republican primary by Greg Heller. Bonner, who is serving his first term, is being challenged in the primary by Mary Kay Bacallao.

Trammell, who serves as House Minority Leader, is being challenged in the general election by Republican Leonard Gomez, a former Grantville City Councilman.

Rep. David Stover, R-Palmetto, is being challenged in the primary by Samuel Anders and by Democrat Tom Thomason in the general election.

Barnett, who represents District 3 on the school board, is being challenged by Jan Horne. Her fellow school board members also picked up opposition: District 4’s Linda Menk is being challenged by Norman Lundin; District 1’s Amy Dees is being challenged by Sandi Haner; and Larry Robertson of District 1 at large is being challenged by Loreli Scott.

The race from Grantville City Council Post 1 got crowded Friday when two more candidates – former Mayor Jim Sells and Sandra Luttrell – joined incumbent Willie Kee and Dee Berry.

Grantville’s city charter doesn’t require runoffs if no candidate gets more than 50 percent of the vote, so whoever gets the most votes in the four-way race will earn the seat. Councilwoman Ruby Hines is being challenged by James Wheeler for her Post 2 council seat, and Mayor Doug Jewell is being challenged by Marion “Sarge” Cieslik and Eddie Markward.

Coweta County Commissioner Tim Lassetter, who represents District 2, is being challenged in the Republican Primary by Eddie Wilson, who ran against him in 2010. Bob Blackburn, who represents District 3, is being challenged by Democrat Phillip Kern-Sims.

Congressman Drew Ferguson, R-West Point, who is in his first term, is being challenged in the Republican primary by Philip Singleton. Rusty Oliver and Chuck Enderlin are vying for the Democratic nomination for the seat.

Coweta State Court Judge Seay Van Patten Poulakos and Coweta Superior Court Judges Bill Hamrick and Dustin Hightower are unopposed for their seats.

The Grantville races will be determined in the Nov. 6 general election.

The non-partisan school board races will be held along with the Republican and Democratic primaries on May 22.