The Newnan Times-Herald


Qualifying ends today

  • By Sarah Fay Campbell
  • |
  • Aug. 20, 2019 - 10:03 PM

No new challengers for city races signed up no Tuesday, the second day of candidate qualifying, and qualifying ends today. 

Noon is the deadline for candidates for council seats in Sharpsburg, Turin, Moreland and Haralson, while Senoia and Newnan candidates have until 4:30 p.m. Senoia and Newnan hold qualifying at their respective city halls, while candidates for the other towns qualify with Elections Supervisor Jane Scoggins at 22 East Broad St, Newnan. 

Haralson's mayor, Audrey Holliday, and Councilwoman Belinda Wilson qualified for reelection Tuesday. Monday was a busy day, with most incumbents qualifying and challengers signing up in Newnan, Sharpsburg, Moreland and Turin. 

Newnan council seats are based on districts. In the smaller cities and towns, candidates only need to live within the city limits. 

Longtime Newnan City Councilman George Alexander picked up an opponent – James Jefferson Thomasson IV – for his District 3, Post A seat. All four city incumbents qualified Monday. In addition to Alexander, they are Cynthia Jenkins, District 3 Post B; Paul Guilliame, District 1 Post A and Dustin Koritko, District 1 Post B. 

Three candidates are in the running for two seats on the Moreland Board of Aldermen currently held by Jeff Burgess and Dan Cato. Burgess qualified, as did David Dupree and Kenneth Tharpe. All candidates run together, with voters choosing two and the seats going to the top two vote-getters. 

In Turin, Shawn Banach, Susan Riemer and Alan Stapp qualified for the two seats currently held by Stapp and Michael Frnka. As in Moreland, all candidates run together. 

In Sharpsburg, Councilman Stan Parten is being challenged by Polly Garlington. Incumbent Councilman Tom Teagle and Mayor Blue Cole also qualified for reelection. 

In Senoia, Councilman Maurice Grover qualified to seek reelection. Grover’s seat and the seat held by Dale Reeder, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Bobby Graham, are both up for election. 

For more information about qualifying, contact Scoggins at 678-854-0015, Newnan City Clerk Della Hill at 770-253-2682 or Senoia City Hall at 770-599-3679.