The Newnan Times-Herald


Council members pick up opposition

  • By Sarah Fay Campbell
  • |
  • Aug. 19, 2019 - 9:47 PM

The 2019 municipal election season is off to a running start, with contested elections in Newnan, Moreland, Sharpsburg and Turin following the first day of qualifying.

Qualifying runs through Wednesday for seats on local councils. Qualifying in Senoia and Newnan runs through 4:30 Wednesday, while qualifying for Turin, Sharpsburg, Moreland and Haralson wraps up at noon that day. 

Longtime Newnan City Councilman George Alexander picked up an opponent, James Jefferson Thomasson IV, for his District 3, Post A seat. All four city incumbents qualified Monday. In addition to Alexander, they are Cynthia Jenkins, District 3 Post B, Paul Guilliame, District 1 Post A and Dustin Koritko, District 1 Post B. 

Three candidates are already in the running for two seats on the Moreland Board of Aldermen currently held by Jeff Burgess and Dan Cato. Burgess qualified, as did David Dupree and Kenneth Tharpe. All candidates run together, with voters choosing two and the seats going to the top two vote getters. 

In Turin, Shawn Banach, Susan Riemer and Alan Stapp qualified for the two seats currently held by Stapp and Michael Frnka. As in Moreland, all candidates run together. 

In Sharpsburg, Councilman Stan Parten is being challenged by Polly Garlington. Incumbent Councilman Tom Teagle and Mayor Blue Cole also qualified for reelection. 

In Senoia, Councilman Maurice Grover qualified to seek reelection. Grover’s seat, and the seat held by Dale Reeder, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Bobby Graham, are both up for election. 

Newnan candidates qualify at Newnan City Hall. For more information call City Clerk Della Hill at770-253-2682. Senoia candidates qualify at Senoia City Hall. For more information call 770-599-3679. All other candidates qualify with Coweta Elections Supervisor Jane Scoggins. For more information call 678-854-0016.