The Newnan Times-Herald


City political qualifying starts Monday

  • By Sarah Fay Campbell
  • |
  • Aug. 15, 2019 - 9:40 PM

Qualifying for city races in Newnan, Senoia, Turin, Sharpsburg, Moreland and Haralson begins Monday and ends Wednesday. 

The cities of Newnan and Senoia run their own qualifying, and candidates for those city councils qualify at their respective city halls. 

Candidates for the smaller towns qualify with the Coweta Elections Supervisor Jane Scoggins at 22 East Broad Street, Newnan. 

Qualifying hours are 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday; 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Tuesday; and 8:30 a.m. to noon on Wednesday. 

In Newnan, four council seats are up – posts A and B in both District 1, currently held by Paul Guillaume and Dustin Koritko, and posts A and B in District 3, held by George Alexander and Cynthia Jenkins. Candidates must live in the district.

In Senoia, the council seats held by Maurice Grover and Dale Reeder are up. Reeder was appointed to the council earlier this year to fill the unexpired term of Bobby Graham, who resigned to move out of state. 

In Sharpsburg, the mayor’s seat, held by Blue Cole, and the Post 1 and Post 3 council seats are up. In Moreland, there are two alderman seats up, in Turin the seats held by Michael Frnka and Alan Stapp, and in Haralson the mayor’s seat, held by Audrey Holliday, and Post 1 council seat, held by Belinda Wilson, are up. 

Only Newnan council seats are based on districts. In the smaller cities and towns, candidates only need to live within the city limits. 

For more information, contact Scoggins at 678-854-0015.