The Newnan Times-Herald


Best of the Best: EC's Jones, Heritage Terry share top honors for Coweta County

  • By Doug Gorman
  • |
  • Apr. 09, 2019 - 4:25 PM

Best of the Best: EC's Jones, Heritage Terry share top honors for Coweta County

The Newnan Times-Herald

(Editor’s Note: The Newnan Times-Herald/Coweta Score girls all-county story will appear Wednesday)

The 2018-19 season will go down as a year when plenty of basketball history was made in Coweta County.

It included a state championship run by a Heritage and an amazing turnaround by East Coweta.

It is for that reason that a player from each of those schools schools shares Co-Player of the Year honors.

Heritage’s Lance Terry and East Coweta’s Fermandez Jones were named the county’s top boys basketball players.

Terry, who signed to play at Gardner Webb, led his team to the GISA state title with a dramatic 67-64 victory over long-time rival Holy Spirit and a 22-9 record.

Terry finished his final year of high school basketball with the Hawks tossing in 22 points per games.

Jones helped lead East Coweta to its best record in school history with a 24-4 record.

Sparked by Jones’ play, the Indians jumped out to a 24-1 record before dropping their last three games.

Jones’ finished the year averaging 19.9 points per game, 2.9 rebounds per contest, 2.3 assists and 2 steals per game.

Two players from East Coweta join Jones as members of the first team. 

Junior Chris Youngblood earned first-team honors after averaging 16.3 points per game with 9 rebounds.

Junior Brandon Stroud also earned first-team honors thanks to a 16.2 points per game average, eight assists per game and two steals.

Heritage’s junior point guard Kasen Jennings and teammate Ebenezer Dowuona also earned first-team honors.

Jennings championship run included a 15.5 points and 6 rebounds per game average. 

Dowuona averaged 8  points and 11 rebounds per game average.

Newnan’s senior power forward Tay Watson also earned first-team honors after the Cougars finished 6-18.

Trinity Christian Brady Burnett helped Trinity finish with an 11-15 record and a trip to the state tournament in its first season in the GHSA Class A-Private School Division.

Burnett finished with a 14-points per game average and 6 rebounds per game.

Two players from Trinity, two from Heritage and one each from East Coweta and Central Christian earned spots on this year’s second team.

Earning a spot from Trinity on the second team were Giancario Bastianoni Sanchez (13.6 PPG) and Tyler Whitefield (8 PPG, 4  APG, 3 SPG).

Heritage’s Connor Thompson (10 PPG, 5 RPG) and Dylan McLean (8 PPG) also earned second-team honors.

East Coweta’s Zac Hill (8.4 PPG, 8.7 RPG) is the lone representative for the Indians on the all-county second team. 

After helping lead the Central Crusaders to the GICAA state runner up, Antwon Ferrell (20 PPG, 3.1 RPG, 3.7 APG and 2.3 SPG) earned second team honors.

The Vikings’ Dillon Wade (10 PPG, 3 RPG) and teammate Jonah French (9.2 PPG, 2 APG) earned third- team honors for the Vikings.

Trinity’s Maclean Hoekwater (6.5 PPG) and Shamari Reed (6.5 PPG) represent the Lions on the third team.

East Coweta’s Demetrius Freeman (7.1 RPG, 5.5 PPG) and Newnan’s Harrison Drake also earned a spot on the third team.

Four players made honorable mention on this year’s All-County team, including Newnan’s Jarmar Stargell, East Coweta’s Rhett Reynolds, and Central’s J.B. Brown, and Michael Morge.

2018-2019  Boys Coweta County Basketball Team

Co-Players of the Year

PG Mandez Jones East Coweta, Sr.

              (19 PPG, 2.9, 2.3, 2.0, St)

SG Lance Terry, Heritage School, Sr.

(22 PG)

First Team

SG Chris Youngblood, East Coweta, Jr.

(16.3, 9 Reb)

PG Kasen Jennings, Heritage School, Jr.

(15 PPG, 6 Rebs)

PF/C Ebenezer Dowuona, Heritage School, Jr. (8 PPG, 11 Reb, 2 blocks)

PF/C Tay Watson, Newnan, Sr.

W/G Brandon Stroud, East Coweta, Jr.

(16.2 PPG, 8.2 Ast, 2 steals)

F Brady Burnett, Trinity Chrisitan, Jr

(14 PPG, 6 rpg, 41% from field, 77% Ft)

Second Team

C     Giancarlo Bastianoni Sanchez, TrinityJr. (13.6, 11 rpg)

SG Antwon Ferrell, Central Christian, Sr.

(20 PPG, 3.1 RPG, 3.7 APG, 2.3 SPG)

SG   Connor Thompson, Heritage School, Jr.

F Zac Hill, East Coweta, Sr.

(8.4 PPG, 8.7 RPG)

G Tyler Whitefield, Trinity Christian, Sr.

(8 PPG, 4 APG, 3 SPG) 

F Dylan McLean, Heritage School, Sr

(8 PPG)

Third Team

G Dillon Wade, Northgate, Jr

(10 PPG, 3 RPG)

G Jonanh French, Northgate, Sr

(9.2. PPG 2 APG)

G Harrison Drake, Newnan, Sr.

W/F Maclean Hoekwater, Trinity Christian, Jr (6.5 PPG)

PG/SG Shamari Reed, Trinity Christian, Jr (6.5 PPG)

F Demetrius Freeman, East Coweta, Sr.

(7.1 RPG, 5.5 PPG)

Honorable Mention

Newnan — G Jamar Stargell, So.

East Coweta: F Rhet Reynolds, Sr.; G Derrick Emory, Sr.

Central Christian — SF J.B. Brown, Sr., PG Michael Morge, So.