The Newnan Times-Herald


Qualifying for sheriff's race starts April 29

  • By Sarah Fay Campbell
  • |
  • Mar. 23, 2019 - 11:50 PM

It’s official – an election for Coweta’s next sheriff will be held June 18.

The Coweta County Board of Elections and Registration has made the official call for the election, according to county officials.

Qualifying for the post will start Monday, April 29 at 9 a.m. and end Wednesday, May 1, at noon.

The qualifying fee for the post is $2,425.

Longtime Sheriff Mike Yeager retired from office March 1 to take a position as U.S. Marshal for the Northern District of Georgia. Lenn Wood, who was chief deputy at the Coweta County Sheriff’s Office, is acting sheriff.

Several candidates have already declared their intent to run for the office: Wood, Tony Grant, Jimmy Callaway, Randolph Collins and Doug Jordan.