The Newnan Times-Herald

Local

County STAR program among upcoming school events


  • By Rebecca Leftwich
  • |
  • Feb. 15, 2019 - 4:19 PM

County STAR program among upcoming school events

The Newnan Times-Herald

Students and employees in the Coweta County School System are headed into a week of winter break, but they’ll be coming back to an increasingly busy slate of activities.

On Friday, March 8, the county’s top Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) student will be named at the noon meeting of the Newnan Rotary Club at the Newnan Country Club. All three public high schools in Coweta, along with The Heritage School and Trinity Christian School, participate in STAR.

The STAR Program recognizes top academic students in Georgia high schools each year at the school, county, regional and state levels. To be recognized, students must be seniors who have the highest scores in their schools in one sitting on the Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT) taken through the November test date of their senior years.

They must also be in the top 10 percent or top 10 students of their classes based on grade point averages. STAR students are asked to honor the educator who most influenced their academic achievement by naming them as their STAR Teacher.

All Coweta students will get another break on Friday, March 15 for a teacher work day, while a big green ogre takes the stage Saturday, March 23-Tuesday, March 26 at Newnan High School’s auditorium as NHS presents its spring show, “Shrek The Musical.”

Spring break is schedule for April 1-5, and among year-end events scheduled for the Coweta County School System include:

Thursday, April 11: Coweta STEM Symposium, Nixon Centre for the Arts, 6 p.m.

Monday, April 15: East Coweta High School Cording Ceremony, Nixon Centre for the Arts, 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 23: High School Honors Luncheon, Kiwanis Club, Coweta County Fairgrounds, noon

Saturday, April 27: East Coweta High School Prom

Monday, April 29: East Coweta High School Honors Night, Crossroads Church (Hwy. 16), 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 30: Northgate High School Honors Night, Nixon Centre for the Arts, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, May 1: Teacher of the Year Program, Nixon Center for the Arts. Reception 6 p.m., program 7 p.m.

Thursday, May 2: Newnan High School Honors Night, Unity Baptist Church, 7 p.m.

Saturday, May 4: Northgate High School and Newnan High School Proms

Thursday, May 9-Saturday, May 11: East Coweta High School spring musical, “Once on This Island,” Nixon Centre for the Arts, 7 p.m.

Sunday, May 19: All high school baccalaureate services. Newnan High School at First Baptist Church Newnan, 2 p.m. Northgate High School at Crossroads Church (Hwy. 154), 2 p.m. East Coweta High School at Crossroads Church (Hwy. 16), 3 p.m.

Wednesday, May 22: Central Educational Center Dual Enrollment Graduation, Nixon Centre for the Arts, 7 p.m.

Thursday, May 23: Newnan High School Graduation, Drake Stadium, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 24: Last Day of School

Friday, May 24: Newnan High School Graduation, Drake Stadium, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 25: East Coweta High School Graduation, Shoemake Stadium, 9 a.m.