The Newnan Times-Herald


Armistead snags Limited Late Model win at Senoia

  • By The Newnan Times-Herald
  • |
  • Jun. 20, 2018 - 3:14 PM

Former track champion Joey Armistead finished his late race charge on Saturday night at Senoia Raceway by narrowly inching in front at the finish line beating Shane Fulcher by only .035 seconds winning the Limited Late Model Trifecta Saturday special event.  

The Senoia young gun pocketed $1,000 for his efforts and inched closer to the top of the point standings for the 2018 season.

Joining him in victory lane were fellow Senoia residents Clint ‘Cat Daddy’ Smith in Crate Late Models and Ashton Winger in the Late Model Sportsman.  

Dorough Bright of Newnan and Dean Williams from Alabama continued their win streaks while Newnan’s Jamie Nicholson, Sr. picked up the win in the Mini Stocks.

McDonough’s Ted Willingham was moved to the winner’s circle after a disqualification in the Hobby.

“There was some really good racing,”  said promoter Mayes Massey.  “Unfortunately, some bad wrecks and a lot of passing and racing through the fields.”

Massey expects even more excitement to come this Saturday when Senoia hosts the 21st Annual Michael Head, Jr. Memorial Race.

span class="Apple-converted-space">  the schedule with the travelling Super Late Model series offering some of the region’s best competitors the opportunity to pocket the top prize of $5,454. 

The tour was at Senoia Raceway last month and Winston’s Michael Page was the winner.

Joining the Southern All-Stars on the schedule of racing includes the Crate Late Models, Late Model Sportsman, Hobby, Bomber and Legends.

span class="Apple-converted-space">  Hot laps and qualifying begin at 6:15 with racing at 7:30 p.m.

Last week, Armistead barely snuck past Shane Fulcher of Thomaston at the finish line in easily the closest race this season. LaGrange’s Dennis Hale was third with Newnan’s Rucker Orr fourth and Griffin’s Bobby Mills fifth.

In the Crate Late Model feature Cody Smith looked to have the field covered until a caution on lap 20 forced a restart before losing control of his car and had others clip his vehicle, ending his night. Clint Smith captured the lead after a second restart and ran to victory.

span class="Apple-converted-space"> 

A race that was eventually shortened by five laps due to several crashes saw Winger take over the lead just prior to one of the larger pileups.  Eighteen-year-old Brandon McDaniel passed Craig Scott during the final lap shoot-out to finish in second.  Dylan Knowles ended up fourth behind Craig and current Late Model Sportsman points leader Cory Compton of Macon rounded the first five.

Jamie Nicholson, Sr. returned to victory lane for the first time since April winning the Mini Stock feature.  

Newnan’s Dorough Bright extended his points lead in the Bombers where  The defending class champion has been unstoppable for the past month winning four straight features.  Newnan’s Scott Amoson finished as the runner-up with Alabama’s Abe Chase in third.

Limited Late Models 

1-Joey Armistead, Senoia  2-Shane Fulcher, Thomaston  3-Dennis Hale, LaGrange  4-Rucker Orr, Newnan  5-Bobby Mills, Griffin  6-Jimmy Johnson, Monroe  7-Thomas Mewborn, Greenville  8-Kenneth Pendley, Dallas  9-Matt Black, Douglasville  10-Marcus Caswell, Newnan  11-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville  12-Matt Dooley, Brooks  13-Chris Carr, Newnan  14-Corey Payton, Newnan  DNS: Bailey Williams, Fayetteville  Fast Qualifier: Fulcher (15.876 seconds – 85.1 mph)

Crate Late Models

1-Clint Smith, Senoia  2-Mason Massey, Douglasville  3-Marty Massey, Winston  4-Chaz Haskins, Gray  5-Steven Bloodworth, McIntyre  6-Marty Lunsford, Newnan  7-Logan Palmer, Acworth  8-Tina Johnson, Senoia  9-Michael Queen, Cartersville  10-Travis Price, Oxford  11-Chase Baker, LaGrange  12-Randall Powell, Oxford  13-Brent Clark, Tunnel Hill  14-Dow Kirkland, Lake Spivey  15-Mike Abercrombie, Jackson  16-Cody Smith  17-Lark Haskins, Gray  18-Trey White, Jenkinsburg  19-Jamie Maurice, McDonough  20-Wayne Harbin, Sharpsburg  21-Chris McCullough  Fast Qualifier: Clint Smith (15.627 seconds – 86.4 mph) 

     Late Model Sportsman

1-Ashton Winger, Senoia  2-Brandon McDaniel, Byron  3-Craig Scott, Newnan  4-Dylan Knowles, Lannett, AL  5-Cory Compton, Macon  6-Curtis Turner, Brooks  7-Chris Steele, Franklin  8-Jamie Nicholson, Jr., Locust Grove  9-Bobby Arnold, Newnan  10-Blant Duke, Whitesburg  11-Jason Turner, McDonough  12-Morgan Alexander, Locust Grove  13-Drew Larson, Marietta  14-Ted Minnix, McDonough  15-Ty Ellis, Covington  16-McKenna Nelms, Newnan  17-Chris Arnett, Lannett, AL  18-Timothy McKinn  19-Ryan King, Anniston, AL  20-Dave McWilliams, Brooks  21-Kayla Boswell, Winston  22-Shane Payton, Newnan  23-Scott Gaddy, Newnan  DNS: Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan; Bud Roland, Molena  Fast Qualifier: Scott  (15.714 seconds – 85.9 mph)


1-Ted Willingham, McDonough  2-Chris Kozusnik, Newnan  3-Josh Pitt, Stockbridge  4-Keith West, Powder Springs  5-Ben Wells, Milner  DQ-Landon DeGraff, Barnesville (nose piece)  DNS: Michael Couch, Senoia; Mike Jenkins, Brooks  Fast Qualifier: Wells (17.028 seconds – 79.3 mph)


1-Dorough Bright, Newnan  2-Scott Amoson, Newnan  3-Abe Chase, Valley, AL  4-Stratton Scott, Newnan  5-Mike Nelms, Newnan  6-John Holder, Milner  7-Vern Miller, Newnan  Fast Qualifier: Bright (17.044 seconds – 79.2 mph)


1-Jamie Nicholson, Sr., Locust Grove  2-Tommy Faulkner, Newnan  3-Gary Parker, Barnesville  4-Bo Chambers, Griffin  5-Bob Faulkner, Newnan  6-Tracy Southerland  DQ: Joshua Till, McDonough (unsportsmanlike conduct)  Fast Qualifier: Nicholson, Sr. (18.421 seconds – 73.3 mph)

Hot Shot

1.-Dean Williams, Lanett, Ala.  2-Ernest Turner, Douglasville  3-Shannon Stephens, Franklin  4-Cale Burford, Milner  5-Justin Bentley  6-Stacey Henderson, Senoia  7-Cory Green