The Newnan Times-Herald


Page doubles up on wins at All-Stars Tour stop

  • By The Newnan Times-Herald
  • |
  • May. 24, 2018 - 5:22 AM

Michael Page of Winston led the majority of the Southern All-Stars Tour ‘Mayhem 40’ on Saturday at Senoia Raceway securing his first-ever win on the tour while also leading every lap of the Limited Late Model feature to double up on the domination.

Page outdueled Zebulon’s Shane Clanton for the $4,000 top prize.  Chatsworth’s Aaron Ridley was third and hometown driver Ashton Winger celebrated his high school graduation with a fourth-place run.

Page continued his success afterward as he hopped behind the wheel of his Limited Late Model and went flag to flag for the victory.  LaGrange’s Dennis Hale, enjoying one of his best seasons ever with three feature wins in 2018, took second ahead of Lithia Springs’ Dalton Polston, Senoia’s Joey Armistead and Greenville’s Thomas Mewborn,

A scary crash in the Late Model Sportsman feature hushed the crowd on lap nine.  Franklin’s Chris Steele was battling with Byron’s Wiley McDaniel when the two came together racing down the front stretch.  Both Steele and McDaniel crashed hard into the turn one wall with Steele’s ride climbing the wall and collecting a half dozen fence posts protecting the trackside parking fans.  Nobody was injured in the incident.

The crash overshadowed a superb race by winner William Blair of Whitesburg.  Ryan King of Anniston, Ala. claimed the No. 2 spot ahead of Macon’s Cory Compton, Newnan’s Craig Scott and Marietta’s Drew Larson.

Colbert’s Kenny Collins and Alabama’s Cruz Skinner had the fans on their feet in the Crate Late Model feature.  Skinner caught front-row starter Collins at the halfway point of the race and began working him trying both the highside and the lowside of the racey 3/8ths mile track.  

Finally on lap 15, Skinner squeezed past Collins coming off the second turn.  That was all the 17-year-old needed for a :02 victory over the veteran Collins.  Seventeen-year-old, Logan Palmer of Acworth was third in his first trip to Senoia Raceway.  Gray’s Chas Haskins was fourth just ahead of Winston’s Marty Massey in fifth.

Locust Grove’s Jamie Nicholson, Jr. claimed his first career victory in the Chargers feature while Eddie Segars mad an inaugural trip to winner's circle besting the Hot Shots main event.

Newnan’s Dorough Bright went flag-to-flag for victory in the Bombers while McDonough’s Ted Willingham worked his way into the lead and eventually the podium for the Hobby.  Newnan’s Tommy Faulkner was the winner in the slim field of Mini Stocks.

Senoia Raceway will take off the Memorial Day weekend and return to racing action on Saturday, June 1 for the track’s annual Summer Sizzler.  The event will include racing in all weekly divisions Super Late Models, Limited Late Models, Crate Late Models, Late Model Sportsman, Griffin Hose & Hydraulic Chargers, Hobby, Bomber, Mini and Hot Shots.  The night will also feature an extended lap main event and purse bonus for the Late Model Sportsman division competitors.

Official Results – Saturday, May 19, 2018

Southern All-Stars ‘Mayhem 40’

1. Michael Page, Winston

2. Shane Clanton, Zebulon

3. Aaron Ridley, Chatsworth

4. Ashton Winger, Senoia

5. Ross Bailes, Clover, S.C.

6. Clint Smith, Senoia

7. Mason Massey, Douglasville

8. Jay Scott  

9. Eric Hickerson, Linden, Tenn.

10. Larry Harrod, Plains

11. Rodney Martin, Cartersville

12. Kenny Collins, Colbert

13. Brad Skinner, Spring Hill, Tenn.

14. Bubba Pollard, Senoia

15. Mark Dodson, Caledonia, Miss.

16. Ronnie Johnson, Chattanooga, Tenn.

17. Lamar Haygood, Douglasville

18. Shane Fulcher, Thomaston

19. Payton Freeman, Commerce

20. Austin Horton, Whitesburg

21. Ray McElhiney, Pulaski, Tenn.

22. Eric Granger, Dallas

23. Joseph Faulkner, Flintville, Tenn.

24. Glenn Morris, Fayetteville  

DNQ-Scott Groves, Canton  Fastest Qualifier: Clanton (14.870 seconds – 90.8 mph)  B-Main No. 1 – Johnson; B-Main No. 2 – Scott

Limited Late Models

1. Michael Page, Winston

2. Dennis Hale, LaGrange

3. Dalton Polston, Lithia Springs

4. Joey Armistead, Senoia

5. Thomas Mewborn, Greenville

6. Mark Page, Winston

7. Rucker Orr, Newnan

8. Landon Bagby, Winston

9. Kyler Haygood, Douglasville

10. Bailey Williams, Fayetteville

11. Jimmy Price, Oxford

12. Jacques Daniel, Cartersville  Fast Qualifier: Page (14.998 seconds – 90.0 mph)

Crate Late Models

1. Cruz Skinner, Oxford, Ala.

2. Kenny Collins, Colbert

3. Logan Palmer, Acworth

4. Chas Haskins, Gray

5. Marty Massey, Winston

6. Josh Copeland, McDonough

7. Tina Johnson,Senoia

8. Dusty Jones, LaGrange

9. Dennis Lykins, Jr., Sharpsburg  

10. Wayne Harbin, Sharpsburg

11. Colby Darda, LaGrange

12. Kole Hardy, Jefferson

13. Travis Price, Oxford

14. Chase Baker, LaGrange  

Fast Qualifier: Jones (15.341 seconds – 88.0 mph)

Late Model Sportsman

1. William Blair, Whitesburg

2. Ryan King, Anniston, Ala.

3. Cory Compton, Macon

4. Craig Scott, Newnan

5. Drew Larson, Marietta

6. McKenna Nelms, Newnan

7. Daniel Brewer, Avondale Estates

8. Jackie Waits  9-Billy Stevenson, Locust Grove

10. Keith Fields, Griffin

11. Matt Thompson, Powder Springs

12. Randy Cornwell, Fayetteville

13. Ty Ellis, Covington

14. Tim Staples, Pell City, Ala.

15. Wiley McDaniel, Byron

16. Chris Steele, Franklin

17. Curtis Turner, Brooks

18. Brandon McDaniel, Byron

19. Alan Brewer

20. Levi Campbell, Jackson  

Fast Qualifier: Steele (15.320 seconds – 88.1 mph)


1. Jamie Nicholson, Jr., Locust Grove

2. Tanner Collins, Franklin

3. Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan

4. Dave McWilliams, Brooks

5. Shane Payton, Newnan

6. Jeff Robinson, Hampton

7. Jason Turner, McDonough


1. Ted Willingham, McDonough

2. Keith West, Mableton

3. Ben Wells, Milner

4 Jamie Garner, Mableton

5. Josh Pitt, Stockbridge

6. Phillip Wallace, Locust Grove

7. Tim Harmon, Conyers  

Fast Qualifier: Willingham (16.098 seconds – 83.9 mph)


1. Dorough Bright, Newnan

2. Scott Amoson, Newnan

3. Shannon Stephens, Franklin

4. Mike Nelms, Newnan  

5. John Holcomb, Griffin

6. Straton Scott, Newnan

7. Ricky Neill, Whitesburg

8. William Blair, Whitesburg

9. Abe Chase, Valley, Ala.

10. Larry Pierce, Griffin

11. Justin Garrett, Manchester  

DNS: Dunie Dillard, Phenixy City, Ala.; Pappy Powell, Hogansville  Fast Qualifier: Bright (17.548 seconds – 77.0 mph)


1. Tommy Faulkner, Newnan

2. Josh Till, McDonough

3. Jamie Nicholson, Sr., Locust Grove

4. Bob Faulkner, Newnan

5. Gary Parker, Barnesville

6. Ryan Boles, Hartwell  

Fast Qualifier: T Faulkner (18.166 seconds – 74.3 mph)

Hot Shot

1. Eddie Segars

2. Jody Dilbeck

3. Lucas Pittman, Grantville  

4. Cody Holmes  

5. Ernest Turner, Douglasville

6. Cale Burford, Milner

7. Stacey Henderson, Senoia

8. Charlie Cowart

9. Nathan Farrow, LaGrange  

DNS-Wayne Chapman