The Newnan Times-Herald


Lassetter, Stover, Jewell pick up challengers

  • By Sarah Fay Campbell
  • |
  • Mar. 06, 2018 - 7:15 AM

Lassetter, Stover, Jewell pick up challengers

The Newnan Times-Herald

Tim Lassetter, David Stover, Doug Jewell

At the end of the first day of qualifying, there are three contested local races.

Qualifying for local, state and federal offices continues through Friday at noon.

Coweta County Commissioner Tim Lassetter, who represents District 2, is being challenged in the Republican primary by Eddie Wilson, who previously challenged Lassetter in 2010.

State Rep. David Stover, R-Palmetto, is being challenged in the Republican primary by Sam Anders.

And Grantville Mayor Doug Jewell is being challenged by Marion “Sarge” Cieslik.

Also qualifying for the Republican primary Monday were District 3 Commissioner Bob Blackburn; State Reps. Lynn Smith, R-Newnan; Josh Bonner, R-Peachtree City; and Bob Trammell, D-Luthersville, and State Sen. Matt Brass, R-Newnan. Congressman Drew Ferguson, R-West Point, also qualified.

Qualifying is also being held for the non-partisan Coweta County Board of Education races, one state court judgeship, and two council members and the mayor in Grantville.

School Board District 4 member Linda Menk qualified for re-election Monday, as did State Court Judge Seay Van Patten Poulakos.

No candidates qualified Monday for the other three school board seats: District 1 At Large held by Larry Robertson, District 1 held by Amy Dees, and District 3 held by Beth Barnett.

Grantville Councilwoman Ruby Hines qualified to seek re-election Monday. No one had qualified for the Grantville City Council seat held by Willie Kee.

Local nonpartisan candidates qualify with Elections Superintendent Jane Scoggins. Local Republican candidates qualify at 14 Greenville St., Newnan, and Democrats qualify at 8 Lee Street. State and federal candidates qualify at the state capitol.

For more information contact Scoggins at 678-854-0015.