The Newnan Times-Herald


Incumbents qualify for all county offices

  • By Sarah Fay Campbell
  • |
  • Mar. 08, 2018 - 8:16 PM

Incumbents qualify for all county offices

Coweta County School System

Coweta County Board of Education members Larry Robertson and Amy Dees qualified Thursday for their seats

All local incumbents have now qualified to seek re-election, and several have opposition.

Qualifying ends today at noon for the May 22 non-partisan election and general election primary, and the Nov. 6 general election.

Coweta County Board of Education members Amy Dees and Larry Robertson qualified Thursday for their seats. Dees is being challenged by Sandi Haner for the District 1 seat, and Robertson is being challenged by Loreli Scott for his District 1 at-large post.

Norman Lundin qualified Thursday to challenge District 4 Board Member Linda Menk.

Grantville City Councilman Willie Kee qualified Thursday. He is being challenged by Dee Berry.

Congressman Drew Ferguson, R-West Point, picked up a Republican primary challenger, and a second Democratic opponent Thursday.

Philip Singleton is challenging Ferguson for the Republican nomination, and Rusty Oliver joined the race for the Democratic nomination along with Chuck Enderlin, who qualified Wednesday.

Tom Thomason qualified as a Democrat on Thursday to challenge State Rep. David Stover, R-Palmetto, who represents District 71. Stover is being challenged in the Republican primary by Samuel Anders.

Other contested races include Grantville mayor, where Doug Jewell is being challenged by Marion “Sarge” Cieslik and Eddie Markward. Council member Ruby Hines is being challenged by James Wheeler.

Coweta County Commissioner Tim Lassetter is being challenged for his District 2 seat by fellow Republican Eddie Wilson, and Commissioner Bob Blackburn, a Republican, has a Democratic challenger, Phillip Kern-Sims, for his District 3 seat.

State Rep. Lynn Smith, R-Newnan, Rep. Josh Bonner, R-Peachtree City, and Rep. Bob Trammell, D-Luthersville, are still unopposed, as are State Sen. Matt Brass, R-Newnan, and State Court Judge Seay Van Patten Poulakos.

Candidates for local partisan offices qualify with their respective parties – Republicans at 14 Greenville St. and Democrats at 8 Lee St. School board candidates qualify with Coweta Elections Superintendent Jane Scoggins, at the Coweta Administration building, 22 East Broad St., and Grantville candidates qualify at Grantville City Hall.

For more information, contact Scoggins at 678-854-0015.