The Newnan Times-Herald


Education Briefs

  • By The Newnan Times-Herald
  • |
  • Mar. 02, 2017 - 8:34 PM

CLICK Trivia Bee set for March 28

The 19th annual Certified Literate is Coweta’s Key (CLICK) Trivia Bee will be Tuesday, March 28 at Newnan First United Methodist Church Parish Hall, 33 Greenville Street.

Teen teams will begin competition at 5:30 p.m. and adult teams at 7 p.m. Anyone interested in participating is encouraged to begin organizing a team. Sponsors also are needed. All funds raised support GED scholarships, tutoring and free classes to improve basic literacy skills for Coweta residents.

For more information, contact CLICK at 404-375-0180 or

Georgia Southern announces Fall 2016 academic honors

Georgia Southern University recently recognized students for excellence in academics on the Fall 2016 semester president's and dean’s lists.

President’s list students include:

Daniel Bruce, Huyun Chen, Courtney Garrett, Samantha Murphey, Dylan Smeyne, Austin Terrell and Guangheng Zhang, all of Newnan; Jessica Chancey, Sara Masler, Mason Moore, Tori Smith and Madison Stewart, all of Senoia; Emily Heath, Lauren Lee and Katie Sachs, all of Sharpsburg; Richard Steele of Tyrone; Jordan Brown, Stephanie Gibson, Giancarlos Gonzalez, Robert Haynes, Derek Higginbotham, Edward Legaspi, Chidimma Morah, Dennis Obregon, Fergus Oubre, Phillip Patterson, Claire Simmons, Anna Smith, Gersen Vangunst and Christiana Williams, all of Fayetteville; Victor Acosta, Erick Bowen, Madeline Conner, Megan Gilbert, Elizabeth Goodman, Alyssa Hartman, Hayley King, Emery Lowe, Micaela Nylund, Helena Resler, Matthew Schilling, Lindsey Szydzik and David Young, all of Peachtree City.

To be eligible for the president's list, a student must have at least a 4.0 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester.

Dean’s list students include:

Joshua Abrams, Alexander Branch and Christa Feazell, all of Senoia; Rachel Cook, Natalie Dyer, Madison Kuhne, Cara Rhoad and Jonathan Thompson, all of Sharpsburg; Rachel Adams, Marissa Askey, Nicole Ball, David Barber, Dalton Bunn, Austin Burgess, Austin Cosby, Katie Griffin, Kali Guimond, Jocelyn Lavariega, Callahan Oconnor, Megan Rich, Emily Wheat and Zachary Wilson, all of Newnan; Devonte Gates of Moreland; Jared Baker, Taylor Daly, Taylor Dolsak and Emma Jones, all of Brooks; Daniel Bowen, Katelyn Mclean of Palmetto; Glen Sage of Tyrone; Paige Berkey, Kathleen Blankenship, Samuel Bryan, Brandi Burnsed, Chloe Coulibaly, Olivia East, Michael Everett, Lyanna Fouce, Zachary Giddens, Rachael Hurst, Kurt Jagstadt, Emily Jordan, Levi Kerlin, Tea Lopez, Kathleen Mannion, McKinley Martin, Heidi McClain, Kelly Montgomery, Tiffany Muchow, Victoria Murry, Sable Newton, Chidera Obinali, Kristin O'Leary, Avery Paugh, Danielle Perry, Savanna Shuler, Amanda Snyder and Bethany Voyles, all of Fayetteville; Hannah Aldinger, Quinton Chan, Jessica Eskew, John Hyle, Benjamin Kuebler, Alyson Laing, Keely Lassig, Mary Lloyd, Samuel Lyon, Liana Milis, Marissa Monteleone, Loretta Pellegrinelli, Leah Pfannenstiel, Courtney Quivelli, Joseph Saulsbury, Steven Schmidt, Tyler Schoolcraft, Kristen Simpson, Sarah Snyder, Jacqueline Taliercio, Robert Taylor, Eric Thomason, Jenna-Grace Thompson, Steven Waldrop and Sarah Watkins, all of Peachtree City.

To be eligible for the dean's List, a student must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester.

Coweta students make Brewton-Parker dean’s list

Four students from Coweta County qualified for the dean’s list at Brewton-Parker College of Newnan for the fall 2016 semester.

They were Katherine Nicole Brimlow of Grantville; Jacqueline Judette Carstairs and Blake Edwards Van Duser, both of Newnan; and Ruth Ester McMichael of Sharpsburg.

Qualifying students were enrolled in 12 or more hours and earned a grade point average of 3.6 or better.

Astronomy lecture planned at UWG in Carrollton

An astronomy presentation, “Proxima Centauri b: The Exoplanet Next Door,” will be held at the University of West Georgia in Carrollton on March 10. The lecture, which is free and open to the public, will be held in the Boyd Lecture Hall, Room 230 from 7-8:30 p.m. Ages 12 and up are welcome.